AUTHOR, Author Debut, Book Review, Fiction, M, Read in 2009

The Chemist by Janson Mancheski

The Chemist
by Dr. Janson Mancheski

Copyright: 2008
Pages: 449
Rating: 4/5
Read: Jan. 2-7, 2009
Challenge: What’s in a Name 2 – Profession in Title category; Countdown Challenge; 2009 100+ Reading Challenge; 2009 1st in a Series Challenge
Yearly Count: 1

First Line: Jagged clouds scudded across the starless June night sky.

Last spring three young women went missing. Three months – three missing girls. There was no evidence that the cases were linked. There wasn’t even any evidence to suggest foul play. Then one of the women’s bodies was discovered in Lake Michigan, headless and full of date rape drugs. Detective Cale Van Waring has no proof, but he knows that these cases are indeed related and that these women are being abducted and possibly murdered. But eventually these cases end up in the cold case pile. After a long winter, spring has once again arrived. And with spring’s arrival, another young woman goes missing. But this time, Detective Van Waring finds a very loose trail. But with his boss watching his every move and his personal life starting to crumble, Van Waring struggles to solve this case before more young women goes missing or ends up dead.

This book was sent to me to spotlight on my blog. After a somewhat slow beginning, I was quickly hooked on this book!! It took me a while to read it simply because my life has been hectic. This should be a quick and easy read for people. I really enjoyed Detective Van Waring’s quick wit. And the interaction between him and his two colleagues on the police force, “Slink” Dooley and Anton Staszak was great in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel by Dr. Mancheski and I am looking forward to the future Van Waring books!

2 thoughts on “The Chemist by Janson Mancheski”

  1. I didn’t know this was a debut novel or maybe I did and forgot. I have this one in my TBR pile. Glad you enjoyed it. Makes me more excited! 🙂

Leave a comment