4/5, AUTHOR, Book Review, C, Fiction, Oregon Files, RATING, Read in 2012, READING CHALLENGES 2012, SERIES

2012.7 REVIEW – Golden Buddha by Clive Cussler

Golden Buddha
by Clive Cussler & Craig Dirgo

Copyright: 2003
Pages: 420
Rating: 4/5
Read: Mar. 7– Mar. 18, 2012
Challenge: Off the Shelf 2012 Challenge
Yearly Count: 67
Format: Print
Source: Personal Copy

Blurb: Clive Cussler, creator of the bestselling NUMA and Dirk Pitt series, presents his latest and most intriguing high seas action hero: the enigmatic captain of the Oregon, Juan Cabrillo.

In his first feature-length adventure, it’s up to Cabrillo and his crew of expert intelligence and Naval men to put Tibet back in the hands of the Dalai Lama by striking a deal with the Russians and the Chinese. His gambling chip is a golden Buddha containing records of vast oil reserves in the disputed land.

But first, he’ll have to locate–and steal–the all-important artifact. And there are certain people who would do anything in their power to see him fail…


Review: Every once in a while I like to break out of my mystery reading and pick up a fun adventure book. This particular book definitely fit the bill for that! Apparently Mr. Cussler introduced Juan Cabrillo’s character in one of his Dirk Pitt novels. Having only read two Dirk Pitt novels, I had never met Juan Cabrillo before. That being said, I found him and his Corporation to be quite interesting.

The reach that the Corporation has is truly intriguing. It was interesting to have all these smaller storylines running along with the others only to have them connect back up a little later on in the book. As I mentioned above, I mainly read mysteries, but an adventure book is almost always fun. This book (when I had time to actually sit down and read more than a couple of pages) was really fun and fast paced. The way the story just unfolded in front of me was amazing. Little things here and there ended up being connected to the overall story in ways I never would have imagined.

Overall I’m definitely glad that I gave this series a chance (as if I needed another series, haha!). And I hope to be visiting the Oregon again soon!!

Leave a comment